Notices
General Mercedes Discussion Use this forum to discuss general Mercedes-Benz topics that are not specifically model related.

Leaving RENNtech - setting the record straight.

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-24-2009, 09:53 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2009 Volkswagen Routan
Leaving RENNtech - setting the record straight.

I'm not sure if "General Mercedes Discussion" is the right forum to post this on, but I feel like it's not really tuning related or model-specific, so here goes.

As many of you probably know, I have been working at RENNtech's Florida HQ since 2006 as a sort of "backup" sales rep and website/pr guy.

Earlier this year, I decided that it would be best for me to move closer to Chicago, where my young son (6) lives with his mother. On February 2nd, I gave my notice to RENNtech's owners that I would be leaving the company by the end of March. Last week, I issued my final letter of resignation and have spent the last several days driving across the country and moving furniture in and out of a white van.

I thought that was the end of it. That I would be left alone and simply allowed to move on and live my life - start a new job in a new town, etc. BUT OH NO!

No fewer than three customers (and one project sponsor) called me on my personal cell, asking what had happened.

"What do you mean, what happened?" I asked.

Each one told me they had been told that I had quit the company suddenly, without any notice, and that anything I had been talking to them about or any questions they may have had for me should be directed to RENNtech management. To a man, they explained that it seemed as if I had left under "shady" circumstances, and they were asked if they had heard of me. The apartment complex I am renting at said that, when they called to verify my employment, "the HR woman" at RENNtech "interrogated" their agent, and that they were not able to accept RENNtech as a reference (!?).