S-Class (W221) 2007-2013: S 320 CDI, S 350, S 450, S 500, S 550, S 420 CDI, S 600

S550 Bluetooth Guide

Old 02-23-2006, 10:15 PM
Almost a Member!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
S550, 575M, X5
S550 Bluetooth Guide

There are a lot of questions regarding the Bluetooth functionality in the S550, so I have put together a small guide below based on my experiences. I own a company that sells over 50 Bluetooth items (http://store.treocentral.com), so I have some experience in the field.

The COMAND System

The COMAND system offers some limited built-in Bluetooth functionality – you can push vCards (address book entries) to COMAND, and more importantly connect a Bluetooth headset directly to COMAND.

By connecting a Bluetooth headset to COMAND, you can use a BT headset inside the car while still controlling the phone (managing dialing, receiving calls etc) through COMAND, as long as your phone is docked in the phone specific MHI Interface cradle.

So the signal chain goes BT Headset - > COMAND -> Phone in Cradle.

This works even if your phone does not have built-in Bluetooth support. Using a headset is great if you have other passengers in the car, and want to keep the conversation semi-private.

You can also use a Bluetooth headset through COMAND if your phone is paired to COMAND using the Bluetooth Interface Module (more on it below). Since most phones can only manage one Bluetooth Headset connection at a time, using the BT headset through COMAND is the only way to use a BT headset and still manage the calls using COMAND. Without this functionality you would have to choose between using a BT Headset or using the phone through COMAND.

Bluetooth Interface Module

Wireless4MB.com sells a Bluetooth Interface Module for $350.00, which is required to use the COMAND system in hands-free mode with your Bluetooth cell phone. They have a list of pre-qualified phones, but most Bluetooth compatible phones should work fine, at least for the basic functionality.