SL-Class (R230) 2003 -- 2012: Discussion on the SL500, SL550, SL600

SL/R230: Info on '05 SL500

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-17-2009, 04:13 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
BMW 335i
Info on '05 SL500

Hi All. MB Newbie here. I'm looking at replacing my 335i with an '05 SL500. This will be my first venture into the MB world. I'm looking at an '05 w/37k miles for $38k. In checking edmunds, it doesn't look out of the market. Is there anything about the '05s that I should be aware of? Appreciate any help here.
Bill.
Old 07-17-2009, 06:10 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
2019 S63 COUPE
mine is on the market...same miles silver with sport amg package and cpo warranty.
your price seems about right. 2005 is a good year.
Old 07-17-2009, 10:44 PM

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
2007 SL550
As a relatively new owner myself, and I also have an 07 335i, I'm no expert but I did a bit of research prior to my purchase (05 SL500) and found a few things to check for. The ABC suspension is known to leak, including leaking struts. Check for oil on the rubber boots around the struts, and if possible if the car has been in the same spot for 24 hours, look for leaks/spills. The ABC pump is another problem area; though I don't know a good way to check this.

Another known weak spot is the solenoid release from park on the automatic transmission. Unfortunately, there's no good way to check this other than ensure the shifter moves easily and repeatedly out of park when you press the brake pedal. Listen for a solid, quiet "thunk" from the shifter. A plastic lever is the weak spot, and when it breaks, you'll be stuck in park with no easy way to remove the console trim.